The Conroy Legacy Award
Share |

Given annually at the Discovery Show, the Conroy Legacy Award honors the example of beloved author Pat Conroy and recognizes writers who have achieved a lasting impact on their literary community. Recipients will have shown the following attributes:

  1. Support for independent bookstores, both in their own communities and in general.
  2. Writing that focuses significantly on their own home place.
  3. Demonstrates support of other writers, especially new and emerging authors.

The Conroy Legacy Award is given to one writer in SIBA territory per year. A juried panel of SIBA member booksellers from across our territory will choose among nominated writers to determine the year's winner. Any bookseller wishing to join the committee should email

Although it is not necessary for a nominated writer to have a new book out in the award year, nominated writers must be living, and must have books in print. Nominations must come from SIBA member bookstores. The Legacy Award provides an opportunity for its member stores to recognize writers who have been important in their community.

Nominations are taken in the spring. The Jury deliberates in the summer, and the Conroy Legacy Award Winner for the upcoming year is announced in September at the SIBA Discovery Show.

Both a donation to the Pat Conroy Literary Center and a donation to a literary entity close to the heart of the writer will be made in the name of the Legacy Award recipient.

Conroy Legacy Award Recipients

2020: Wiley Cash

2019: Rick Bragg

2018: Kwame Alex­ander

Conroy Legacy Award Submission Form