News you can use from the Land of SIBA: May 24, 2018
Share |

Click here to view online | Like us on Facebook!

siba header

FIRST THINGS FIRST:

5/28: BOOKEXPO! Have fun!
6/1: Summer Okra Pick Nominations are due (here)

6/15: Deadline to submit to ABACUS (here)

Important and useful links:

#SIBA18 Discovery Show
Coming up on Lady Banks' Pick of the Week
The current Southern Indie Bestsellers (PDF): HC | PB | Kids
Bookseller Benefits Package
|| The Booksellers' WaterCooler || Read This!


BINC & MACMILLAN DIVERSITY SCHOLARSHOP RETURNS

Nine scholarships will be awarded in 2018

bincThe Macmillan Booksellers Professional Development Scholarship, a program sponsored by the Book Industry Charitable (Binc) Foundation and Macmillan Publishers to provide professional development to booksellers traditionally underrepresented within the industry, is returning for 2018.

The application period will begin on June 1, and will end on July 1. 

The program is intended to encourage a greater number of individuals from underrepresented groups to choose and/or continue careers in bookselling by offering up to a maximum of $500 for a bookseller from a traditionally underrepresented group to attend a regional trade show.

MacmillanEach scholarship will cover the cost of travel, lodging, and meals for one bookseller to attend their regional trade show. Nine scholarships are available – one for each regional independent bookseller association. To be eligible to apply for a scholarship, a bookseller must have worked in a bookstore as a regular full or part-time employee for a minimum of 90 days. The bookstore must be a member in good standing of one of the regional trade associations. The applicant will answer three brief essay questions and the winners will be selected by a panel composed of Binc board members, booksellers, bookstore owners, and publishers. 

Booksellers can find out more details and apply at https://bincfoundation.submittable.com/submit

 Applications must be completed by July 1, 2018.


AVID BOOKSHOP SEEKS FRONTLINE BOOKSELLER

Avid Bookshop is seeking a frontline bookseller to work at both the Prince Avenue and Five Points shops 5 days/week, 40 hours/week. Avid Bookshop is a community-focused independent bookstore with two locations in Athens, Georgia. Frontline booksellers are the face of Avid, engaging with the community by sharing a love of the written word, curating our shops to suit their neighborhoods, and fulfilling orders for virtually any book in print.

See full listing




GALLEYS & GIVEAWAYS

Galleys & Giveaways

Welcome to SIBA's Galleys & Giveaways—our alert of review copies and resources available to booksellers. To help you harvest a great crop of Southern literature, SIBA and participating publishers are giving away the galleys and other materials below to southern indie booksellers on a first-come, first-serve basis. If you are interested simply email the publisher to request a copy. Supplies are limited, so act quickly!

Liked what you read? Let everyone know!

  • Nominate for the next season of SIBA's Okra Picks!
  • Nominate for the next Southern Book Prize!
  • Send nicki@sibaweb.com your review for the Lady Banks newsletter
  • Submit to IndieNext
  • Review on Edelweiss+ (be sure to click the "SIBA" option in the review box)

N.B. These are review copies only, and not for resale.

Eat. Sleep. Read. Southern.


Confound ItConfound It (Dreamwalker Mystery #5), by Maggie Toussaint
Camel Press / 6/1/2018 / $16.95 / Paperback / 9781603815956 

"A complex, multifaceted read that holds many satisfying twists and turns even for the staid detective story reader. Confound It will prove hard to put down and surprising right up to its final revelations." —Midwest Book Review

"In her fifth Dreamwalker novel, Maggie Toussaint pairs a tricky murder plot with her amazingly original supernatural setting…a dream come true for fans of paranormal mysteries." —Leigh Perry, Author of the Family Skeleton Mysteries

"Toussaint's deft writing makes Baxley leap off the page."—RT Reviews

While hosting out-of-town guests at her Georgia home, Dreamwalker Baxley Powell helps investigate a suspicious fire. One of her guests, close friend and fellow dreamwalker Deputy Sam Mayes, accompanies her to the scene.

A meth cook is dead, and when Baxley visits her beyond the Veil of Life, she determines the woman was murdered. Baxley pities Mandy Patterson, a single mother with aspirations for her teenage son Doodle. Unconcerned about the death of a criminal, the authorities pursue the drug-supply chain angle. Baxley worries about Doodle and vows to find his mother's killer.

As the case grows more baffling, Baxley struggles against her attraction to Sam. Although her husband is missing and declared dead, she doesn't feel free to love again until she's sure of his fate.

Two suspects have the strongest motive, but Baxley believes they are pawns in a deeper game. Unless she can stop them, the world will never be the same.

"Full of surprises and borders on the fantasy or paranormal genre…witty and thought provoking!" —Ind' Tale Magazine

"I didn't want the experience to end…this book earned a place on my bookshelf to be read again and again." —Karla Brandenburg

To request a review copy: aubrey@epicenterpress.com or maggietoussaint@darientel.net



MEET THE BOOKSELLER: LYN ROBERTS, SQUARE BOOKS

Lyn RobertsName: Lyn Roberts

Store and location: Square Books, Oxford, Mississippi

website || facebook || twitter || instagram

Number of years as a bookseller: 30 years

Best part about being a bookseller: Books and people and inhabiting that sweet spot where the two meet each other.

Square Books   Square Books Interior

The world is a narrow bridgeWhat book(s) are you reading:
Aaron Thier, THE WORLD IS A NARROW BRIDGE.

The Twelve Lives of Samuel HawleyFavorite handsell of 2017: Hannah Tinti, THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY

Best thing you did this year at your store:
Lots of good things happened in 2017. Our state has two tax-free holidays each year, one for back to school and the other is a "2nd Amendment" sales tax holiday on guns and ammunition. We began lobbying for a "1st Amendment" sales tax holiday and offer a discount to offset the sales tax on the same weekend as the gun sales tax holiday. It's a positive way to show what is important to us and start a conversation.

Social Media Stats (FB likes, Twitter followers, etc)
Facebook: 10k | Twitter: 12k | Instagram: 9.1k

What are some ways you work with your community?
We try to get books to kids. We send authors to the schools when we can and we work with the Lafayette County Literacy Council and other groups to bring an author into town to speak to the 1st and 5th grades. Every student in the county in those grades will receive a free copy of that author's book to keep.

Top priority going into 2018:
It's the same priority every year---be better. That means continuing to provide staff with all the tools they need to be informed about books and make sales. It means reaching out to our community on an individual and group level. It means updating our website so we can give customers the best online experience and encourage them to come to the store. It's having the best curated inventory. It means having strong relationships with authors in our local community and in the larger book industry community. It means fostering healthy relationships and open communication lines with publishers.

Favorite SIBA programming benefit:
I really appreciate the community and access to the combined knowledge of so many booksellers, so the listserv is my favorite.

 


Edelweiss+

THE BOOKS YOUR COLLEAGUES ARE TALKING ABOUT

Submitted this week on Edelweiss+ using the "send to SIBA" option. Thanks to Avid Bookshop, Fiction Addiction, Malaprop's Bookstore/Cafe, McIntyres Books, Page 158 Books, Square Books, The Story Shop, and Union Avenue Bookshop.

9781573247436 Protest Kitchen 10/1/2018 
"I love the way the book combines recipes with recommended actions for people who want to make a change."

9780440000785 Vox 8/12/2018
"An absolute must read for Fans of Station Eleven, The Handmaid's Tale and When She Woke, Vox may ironically be the discussion-starter of the season."

9781524733377 The Price You Pay 7/10/2018
"When this book is over you will want to take a shower for putting yourself on the side of the despicable miscreant. . .Funny thing is...it won't stop you from eagerly devouring every page of this one."

9781524732813 The Impostor 8/28/2018
"A perfect mix of Javier Marias' compulsive need to unpeel a topic and Emmanuel Carrere's introspective, self-reflective non-fiction."

9780525515029 Small Spaces 9/25/2018
"A deliciously creepy middle-grade novel that will inspire under the covers flashlight reading."

More bookseller reviews

If your store does not have an Edelweiss+ account and needs help setting one up, contact Linda-Marie


In the last issue: A Year in Profitability

Is your membership current?
Your name: @@first_name@@ @@last_name@@
Your store: @@employer@@
Your member type (store/staff): @@member_type@@
Your membership expiration: @@membership_exp_date@@ *
Your B3! Credit: ##B3TOTAL##

*if your member type says "staff" then your expiration date is whenever your bookstore's membership expire, and B3 credit will also be applied to the master account. Email wanda@sibaweb.com to find out how much credit your store has earned.  Stores can add staff to their accounts under the "Subaccounts" link under the "Information & Settings" tab.

Renew here | Booksellers Benefits Package

---
Thank you for your interest in SIBA,
 

Nicki Leone
SysAdmin
nicki@sibaweb.com


Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance
51 Pleasant Ridge Drive, Asheville, NC 28805
803.994.9530
Fax: 309.410.0211
www.sibaweb.com

 
#siba18: Fall Discovery Show
Sept 13-15 THU-SAT | Tampa, FL
 

Many thanks to our 2018 Inkreadible Sponsors

BookazineBaker & Taylor
Ingram Content Group 

The Reba and Dave Williams Foundation for Literature and the Arts

SIBA | 51 Pleasant Ridge Drive | Asheville, NC 28805
You are receiving this email at @@email@@. If you wish to stop receiving email from us, you can simply remove yourself by replying with "unsubscribe" in the subject or by visiting: @@unsubscribe_url@@