News you can use from the Land of SIBA: August 22, 2019
Share |

Click here to view online

siba header

FIRST THINGS FIRST:

8/31: Deadline to place your SIBA Board Ballot (here)
9/1: Advanced registration for #SIBA19 closes (here)
9/13: #SIBA19 Discovery Show (register)
9/19: Deadline to order non-imprinted holiday catalogs (here)

SIBA Office Hours: Wednesdays from 2:00 - 5:00 PM EST
In the Land of SIBA Blog


TWO THINGS TO DO RIGHT NOW:

Register (for #SIBA19) and Vote (for your SIBA Board)


Next week on Lady Banks Pick of the Week:

Read more about SIBA's Circle of Sites Program (aka the "banner for dues" program) and find out whether your store is eligible to participate and receive free membership dues.

GALLEYS & GIVEAWAYS: HOLDING ON TO NOTHING


Holding on to Nothing

Holding On To Nothing by Elizabeth Chiles Shelburne

Blair / October 22, 2019 / $25.95 / Hardcover / 9781949467086

“Shelburne’s stunning debut novel is a long trip into small-town Tennessee…riveting, touching, heart-wrenching, tragic, and beautiful.”—Booklist

“Elizabeth Chiles Shelburne writes with extraordinary love and compassion of the lives of her flawed characters; she shines a clear, calm light on their tragedies, their joys, and their hard-won redemptions.”—Lauren Groff, Florida and Fates and Furies

Lucy Kilgore has her bags packed for her escape from her rural Tennessee upbringing, but a drunken mistake forever tethers her to the town and one of its least-admired residents, Jeptha Taylor, who becomes the father of her child. Together, these two young people work to form a family, though neither has any idea how to accomplish that, and the odds are against them in a place with little to offer other than bluegrass music, tobacco fields, and a Walmart full of beer and firearms for the hunting season. Their path is harrowing, but Lucy and Jeptha are characters to love, and readers will root for their success in a novel so riveting that no one will want to turn out the light until they know whether this family will survive.

In luminous prose, debut novelist Elizabeth Chiles Shelburne brings us a present-day Appalachian story in the tradition of Lee Smith, Silas House, and Ron Rash, cast without sentiment or cliché, but with a genuine and profound understanding of the place and its people.

“A book you literally cannot put down.”—Lee Smith, Dimestore and The Last Girls

Holding On To Nothing is a gem.”—Ron Rash, Serena

To Request a Review Copy: publicity@blairpub.com


SIBA HOLIDAY CATALOG DEADLINE EXTENDED TO 8/29!

SIBA Holiday CatalogThe deadline to order imprinted holiday catalogs has been extended to August 29

August 29: Deadline to order imprinted Catalogs
September 19: Deadline to order non-imprinted catalogs

Click here to place your catalog order.

Click here to read more about the Holiday Catalog, including the new Catalog Email Newsletter, powered by Shelf Awareness

Sign up for the SIBA Holiday Catalog | Title List |  More info

Print | Email (NEW!) | Web


 



SIBA19DISCOVERY SHOW

Up all night reading at #SIBA19 in Spartanburg, South Carolina

Any vendor that gets a bookstore to the Discovery Show that has never been before can each enjoy $100 towards show expenses.

Schedule | Hotel | Register | Exhibitors | Attendees | Authors

AUTHORinteractions:

Are you enthralled by authors in conversation, or an event planner looking for inspiration, or a fan of authors of a similar genre coming together to discuss their craft? Maybe all three? Check out our AUTHORinteraction Events on Friday, (9/13) of our #SIBA19 Discovery Show and plan your time accordingly. You can find our full schedule of events here.

9AM: Pat Conroy - Our Prince of Scribes

Moderated by Jonathan Haupt, Executive Director of the Pat Conroy Literary Center, the four featured writers will share from their relationships with Pat Conroy, and discuss his influence on their writing lives.

  • Ashley Warlick, The Arrangement (Penguin)
  • Ron Rash, The Risen (HarperCollins)
  • George Singleton, Staff Picks(LSU Press)
  • John Lane, Neighborhood Hawks (UGA Press)

.   


IN BRIEF

Panaorama Picks Southeast: Panorama Picks provides local booksellers with quarterly lists of under-the-radar fiction, nonfiction, and young adult backlist titles library patrons are waiting to borrow—optimized for local interest via regional groupings aligned with the American Booksellers Association’s (ABA) regional associations. The regional groupings generally mirror the American Booksellers Association’s (ABA) groupings and naming conventions. A few adjustments have been made to simplify the reporting and presentation of the recommendations. The lists are provided as Google Sheets and include the publication date, ISBN, and BISAC codes for each title: Q1 2019 | Q2 2019

more info

On Lady Banks Bookshelf this month:

 

BESTSELLERS: August 18, 2019

Bestsellers 

Hardcover Fiction

1. Where the Crawdads Sing
Delia Owens, Putnam, $26, 9780735219090
2. The Nickel Boys
Colson Whitehead, Doubleday, $24.95, 9780385537070
3. Chances Are . . .
Richard Russo, Knopf, $26.95, 9781101947746
4. City of Girls
Elizabeth Gilbert, Riverhead Books, $28, 9781594634734
5. Inland
Téa Obreht, Random House, $27, 9780812992861

Hardcover Nonfiction

1. Educated
Tara Westover, Random House, $28, 9780399590504
2. How to Be an Antiracist
Ibram X. Kendi, One World, $27, 9780525509288
3. The Source of Self-Regard
Toni Morrison, Knopf, $28.95, 9780525521037
4. Becoming
Michelle Obama, Crown, $32.50, 9781524763138
5. Three Women
Lisa Taddeo, Avid Reader Press/S&S, $27, 9781451642292

Special to the Southern List
Books that appear on the Southern Bestseller List, but not on any other region's list

Never Have I Ever Joshilyn Jackson, Morrow, $26.99,Pachinko Min Jin Lee, Grand Central, $15.99,Sula Toni Morrison, Vintage, $15,The Soul of America Jon Meacham, Random House, $20,The Last Castle Denise Kiernan, Touchstone, $17,

see all


THE BOOKS YOUR COLLEAGUES ARE TALKING ABOUT

Edelweiss+Some of the reviews submitted this week on Edelweiss+ from your fellow SIBA booksellers. SIBA members earn B3! points for every review if they join the SIBA community on Edelweiss. Email nicki@sibaweb.com to be added.

Have You Eaten Grandma The Beekeeper of Aleppo Dominicana 

9780399187353 My Life as an Ice Cream Sandwich 8/27/2019
"An adorable book about Ebony Grace NoFleet and all of her Star Trek nerdiness. A spacetastic coming of age story! Ebony struggles to fit in "No Joke City", Harlem on the planet "Boombox" with her father "Serious Julius," but she is misunderstood by the "nefarious minions," and her friendship with Bianca Pluto has changed. It is hard to find your place when the world seems to be filled with aliens who just don't understand you. A brilliantly written page-turning book for all ages! " -- Ellen Jackson, Avid Bookshop, Athens, GA

9781948226424 The Ungrateful Refugee 9/3/2019
"We hear so much talk today about the refugee crisis, but rarely if ever do we hear it from the perspective of the refugees themselves. Their voices are lost in poverty, isolation, fear, and shame. This book brings to life the realities of being an asylum-seeker and makes them real, visceral. As an immigrant myself, I found resonance in some of Nayeri's descriptions of complicated identity. As the daughter of a desirable immigrant surgeon, however, I am grateful to this remarkable book for helping me understand just a sliver of what my experience could easily have been had my circumstances been just slightly different. Insofar as this book helps to humanize an oft-dehumanized population, it is a hugely important book that should be read widely."-- Lucy Stoltzfusr, The Bookshelf, Thomasville, GA

9780316421997 The Ten Thousand Doors of January 9/10/2019
"Oh, I just loved this. It's a beautifully atmospheric novel with a fascinating new take on the portal trope. Every character was written so thoughtfully, even (perhaps especially) its villain. Ultimately, a beautiful exploration of other worlds, the importance of words, and what happens when you challenge power. " -- Kaley Lowman, Quail Ridge Books, Raleigh, NC

More bookseller reviews


Important and useful links:

SIBA Office Hours: Wednesdays from 2:00 - 5:00 PM EST
In the Land of SIBA Blog
Southern Indie Bestsellers (HC | PB | Kids)

The Booksellers' WaterCooler | Ongoing publisher promotions


In the last issue: Holiday Catalog Title List
Your name: @@first_name@@ @@last_name@@
Your store: @@employer@@
Your membership expiration: @@membership_exp_date@@ *
Your B3! Credit: ##B3TOTAL##

*staff and sub accounts expire when their master account expires

Renew here

---
Thank you for your interest in SIBA,
 

Nicki Leone
SysAdmin
nicki@sibaweb.com


Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance
51 Pleasant Ridge Drive, Asheville, NC 28805
803.994.9530
Fax: 309.410.0211
www.sibaweb.com

 

Many thanks to our 2019 Inkreadible Sponsors below:

The Reba and Dave Williams Foundation for Literature and the ArtsIngram Content GroupBookazine

SIBA | 51 Pleasant Ridge Drive | Asheville, NC 28805
You are receiving this email at @@email@@. If you wish to stop receiving email from us, you can simply remove yourself by replying with "unsubscribe" in the subject or by visiting: @@unsubscribe_url@@