News you can use from the Land of SIBA, March 5, 2020
Share |
From the Land of SIBA A message from SIBA to its membership

You have received this email because you are currently subscribed to receive general correspondence.
Please click @@unsubscribe_url@@ if you no longer wish to receive these communications.
View this email online.

ad
ladybanks banner

facebook  twitter  instagram  google

First Things First...

Mar 9-19: March Madness Bookseller Series
Mar 11: Application deadline for Binc Higher Education scholarships
Mar 11: Tin House Scholarship Deadline
Mar 25: B3! Webinar: Keeping It Indie with Bookstore Link
Apr 13: IBD Exclusive Materials Ship to Stores
2020 SIBA Discovery Show Registration is Open!


SIBA Office Hours on Zoom:

Wednesdays from 2:00 - 5:00 PM EST
(by appointment in November and December)
803-994-9530 | siba@sibaweb.com

In the Land of SIBA Blog

Linda-Marie Barrett selected as next SIBA Executive Director

Linda-Marie Barrett(Asheville, NC) The Search Committee and Board of Directors of the Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance is pleased to announce the selection of Linda-Marie Barrett as SIBA’s incoming Executive Director. She will step into the position on June 16, 2020, when the current Executive Director, Wanda Jewell, retires. “I’m leaving SIBA in better hands than my own, and that feels really good,” said Jewell. “I couldn’t be more delighted.”

Barrett brings a strong strategic vision to the organization at a time when the book industry is adapting to a rapidly evolving environment. She writes, “During this very dynamic time in our industry, SIBA needs, more than ever, to offer programming that addresses current member needs. This means being in constant conversation with member bookstores to hear what’s happening ‘on the ground,’ looking outside our industry for opportunities, and considering new partnerships in communities, and regionally. My passion, and SIBA’s primary goal, is to give booksellers the tools they need to be successful and achieve their dreams. I’m so honored to be taking on this role and look forward to working with the SIBA Board and all our member bookstores to see what possibilities we can create together.”

Barrett was chosen in a unanimous decision after a robust, four-month-long search. “The SIBA Executive Director Search Committee has completed an exhaustive pursuit,” said Search Committee member Shane Gottwals of Gottwals Books in Byron, Georgia. “While we talked to many qualified and motivated candidates, it was abundantly clear that Linda-Marie Barrett is just the right person to lead SIBA. She knows the industry and can relate to the needs of core members in an unparalleled way.”

Read more


SIBA Joins the Regional Associations Holiday Catalog Consortium

RAMP

SIBA has joined four other regional associations -- NAIBA, GLIBA, NEIBA, and MIBA -- in the Regional Association Marketing & Promotion (RAMP) catalog consortium to produce the 2020 SIBA Holiday Catalog. The consortium allows publishers to expand the reach of key 4th-quarter titles to the indie bookstore market in the entire eastern half of the United States.

RAMP

“We are delighted to join the consortium,” says Wanda Jewell, Executive Director of SIBA. “Together we are better and that is always so. We will be able to offer better prices to publishers and a better product to booksellers, selling more books for everyone.”

For SIBA Booksellers, that means expanded marketing and promotional support for catalog titles through direct and saturation mail, digital content, and extensive POS materials.

As always, the holiday catalog remains a free member benefit to bookstores. Stores incure no printing, imprinting, or shipping costs.


 

#SIBA20

March Madness: Great bookseller resources within driving distance!

March Madness at Horton's Bookshop

We decentralized SIBA in the Springtime this year with the March Madness Bookseller Series for the ease of member travel but as it turns out it is also the best option in the face of the virus capturing the news. In spite of the prevalent news of canceled events and fears of traveling, the total number of registrations across SIBA's March Madness Bookseller series events is up 15% over last year's Atlanta-based event. Even more encouraging, over forty bookstores have registered, almost twice the number of stores from 2019 and almost a quarter of the SIBA membership to date.

Stores are also bringing a greater percentage of their staff and frontline booksellers, finding it more feasible to attend a day-long event within driving distance which doesn't require making hotel accommodations. Most stores are bringing at least one or two extra staff, and some have registered their entire floor staff.

Registration for MMBS will remain open through most of the series to allow people to register for later events in the series.

Special presentations:

American Bookseller Association Town Hall Lunch and Forum

March 11 at Page 158 Books in Wake Forest, NC
March 19 at Avid Bookshop in Athens, GA ( Offsite Location: Old Fire Hall No. 2., 489 Prince Ave., Athens, GA 30601)

Matchbook Marketing presents Shop South
The Shop South program will incorporate Okra Pick, Circle of Sites, Southern Book Prize, Conroy Legacy titles and more into bookstore websites and, where possible, link them to online sales pages.

March 11 at Page 158 Books in Wake Forest, NC
March 12 at Fountain Books in Richmond, VA
March 16 at Fiction Addiction in Greenville, SC

Author Guests

March 9: Yaffa Santos at Oxford Exchange in Tampa, FL
March 10: Ashley Blooms at Page & Palette in Fairhope, AL
March 10: Pat McKee at Horton's Books in Carrollton, GA
March 11: Lee Durkee & William Boyle at Square Books, Oxford, MS
March 12: Tracey Livesay & Lorelei Parker at Fountain Bookstore, Richmond, VA
March 13: Kevin Winchester at Bookmarks in Winston-Salem, NC
March 15: Yaffa Santos at Story & Song, Fernandina Beach, FL
March 16: Caroline Cooney at Fiction Addiction, Greenville, SC

March Madness Main Page | Register


This week on Lady Banks Pick of the Week:

Read more about SIBA's Circle of Sites Program (aka the "banner for dues" program) and find out whether your store is eligible to participate and receive free membership dues.


In Brief: Tennessee bookstores recover from tornadoes

Several Tennessee bookstores were in the proximity of the tornadoes that devastated parts of Nashville. Parnassus Books closed for a day to allow staff to help their families and neighbors with clean up in the aftermath. Read more


In Brief: Tin House Bookseller Scholarship Deadline is 3/11

Tin House Books has launched an Independent Bookseller Scholarship for its Tin House Summer Workshop. One bookseller-writer will be chosen as a Tin House Scholar, and will receive full tuition and room and board to the summer workshop, which takes place July 11-19 on the campus of Reed College in Portland, Ore. This year's workshop faculty includes Kristen Arnett, Hanif Abdurraqib, Nicole Dennis-Benn, Tommy Orange, and other writers. Deadline to apply for the workshop is March 11.

https://tinhouse.com/workshop/summer-workshop/


Okra Picks

This month on Lady Banks Bookshelf:

lady banks bookshelf

Read This! Highest Rated Reviews from SIBA Booksellers

Reviewed by Booksellers

Some of the reviews submitted this week on Edelweiss+ from your fellow SIBA booksellers. SIBA members earn B3! points for every review if they join the SIBA community on Edelweiss. Email nicki@sibaweb.com to be added.

The Last Taxi Driver by Lee Durkee, 3/3/2020
Reviewed by Bobby Bradley, Malaprop's Bookstore/Cafe, Asheville, NC
On Edelweiss

Fabulous! One day in the life of a cab driver on the edge of sanity as he careens along the highways, by-ways and back alleys of North Mississippi carting junkies and thieves and grandmas to their next stop in life and death. Will you be an accomplice?

Be Not Far From Me by Mindy McGinnis, 3/3/2020
Reviewed by Chelsea Stringfield, Parnassus Books, Nashville, TN
On Edelweiss

Ashley knows how to survive in the woods, but that is tested when she tumbles in a rage and wakes to discover that her foot is beyond broken and she is alone. For fans of Hatchet and Into Thin Air, this survival tale is a tightly-woven exploration of how far someone will really go to survive.

Untamed by Gennon Doyle, 3/10/2020
Reviewed by Tanya Corbella, Midtown Reader, Tallahassee, FL
On Edelweiss

I think many people will be surprised by the author of LOVE WARRIOR. Doyle has a lot to say and she says it unabashedly in UNTAMED. It's a wake up call/self-confidence boost for women written with her no-nonsense manner. Recommend.

More bookseller reviews


The Southern Independent Bestseller List

southern bestseller list

FULL BESTSELLER LIST
Printable versions for your store displays: Hardcover | Paperback | Children's.

For the week ending 3/1/2020.

HARDCOVER FICTION

1. American Dirt Jeanine Cummins, Flatiron Books, $27.99, 9781250209764
2. Where the Crawdads Sing Delia Owens, Putnam, $26, 9780735219090
3. A Long Petal of the Sea Isabel Allende, Ballantine, $28, 9781984820150
4. Apeirogon Colum McCann, Random House, $28, 9781400069606
5. Such a Fun Age Kiley Reid, Putnam, $26, 9780525541905

HARDCOVER NONFICTION

1. The Splendid and the Vile: A Saga of Churchill, Family, and Defiance During the Blitz Erik Larson, Crown, $32, 9780385348713
2. Educated Tara Westover, Random House, $28, 9780399590504
3. Talking to Strangers Malcolm Gladwell, Little Brown, $30, 9780316478526
4. The Boy, the Mole, the Fox and the Horse Charlie Mackesy, HarperOne, $22.99, 9780062976581
5. Wilmington's Lie: The Murderous Coup of 1898 and the Rise of White Supremacy David Zucchino, Atlantic Monthly Press, $28, 9780802128386

See what's special to the Southern List!


facebook  twitter  instagram  google

Southern Independent Booksellers Alliance
Supporting independent bookstores in the South
SIBA | 51 Pleasant Ridge Drive | Asheville, NC 28805


Useful Links
SIBA Office Hours on Zoom:
Wednesdays from 2:00 - 5:00 PM EST
Available during regular business hours at 803-994-9530, or anytime at siba@sibaweb.com

In the Land of SIBA Blog
Southern Indie Bestsellers (HC | PB | Kids)
The Booksellers' WaterCooler | Ongoing publisher promotions
In the last issue: ABACUS Resource Roundtable

Thank you for your interest in SIBA,
Nicki Leone
SysAdmin
nicki@sibaweb.com


THANKS TO OUR INKREADIBLE SPONSORS:

bookazine
williams

SIBA | 51 Pleasant Ridge Drive | Asheville, NC 28805
You have received this email because you are currently subscribed to receive general correspondence.
Please click @@unsubscribe_url@@ if you no longer wish to receive these communications.