In the land of SIBA
Blog Home All Blogs
Search all posts for:   

 

View all (697) posts »
 

September Reader Meet Writer Events

Posted By Linda-Marie Barrett, Saturday, August 22, 2020

SIBA's Reader Meet Writer Author Series features bestselling authors and fresh new voices, fiction and non-fiction, in an engaging and accessible format. Over 65 SIBA member bookstores participate in our virtual event series, and audiences have topped well over 400 attendees. Beloved author and indie advocate Wiley Cash is our host, and viewers couldn't be more pleased with his thoughtful, charismatic presence and engagement with featured authors. If you're a member store and would like to join our circle, or a publisher with authors you'd like us to consider hosting, please contact lindamarie@sibaweb.com<

September Reader Meet Writer Events:

Daniel NayeriThursday, Sep 3 at 7PM EDT: Daniel Nayeri, author of Everything Sad is Untrue will be in conversation with host Wiley Cash. Nayeri is the publisher of Odd Dot, an imprint of Macmillan Children’s Publishing Group, where he oversees a team of designers, editors, and inventors creating joyful books for curious minds.  In his middle-grade novel, Nayeri shares the fictionalized  story of his family’s flight from Iran in the middle of the night to a refugee camp in Italy, and eventually to a school in Oklahoma, where he is met with curiosity and suspicion. Kirkus Review calls Everything Sad is Untrue a “A modern epic... with beauty amid the pain, as well as laughter.”

Daniel NayeriDaniel NayeriTuesday, Sep 8 at 3PM EDT: Anna North, author of Outlawed, will be in conversation with Melissa Febos, author of Girlhood. North's novel dusts off the myth of the old west and reignites the promise of the frontier with an entirely new set of feminist stakes. It’s been described as “The Crucible meets True Grit in this riveting adventure story of a fugitive girl, a mysterious gang of robbers, and their dangerous mission to transform the Wild West.”Febos' book of essays examines the narratives women are told about what it means to be a girl and the realities of growing up female in a world that prioritizes the feelings, perceptions, and power of men at girls' expense. Carmen Maria Machado praises Girlhood, "These essays are moss and iron-hard and beautiful-and struck through with Febos' signature brilliance and power and grace. An essential, heartbreaking project.”

Carl HoffmanThursday, Sep 10 at 7PM EDT: Carl Hoffman, author of Liar’s Circus: The Strange and Terrifying Journey into the Upside-Down World of Trump’s MAGA Rallies will be in conversation with host Wiley Cash. A former contributing editor to National Geographic Traveler, Hoffman has traveled to 80 countries on assignment; he has written about cannibals in New Guinea, Mumbai’s railways (the deadliest in the world), and the indigenous tribes of Borneo. Now he trains his unique eye on his own country. Fear and Loathing on the Campaign Trail meets Strangers in Their Own Land in this work of daring and immersive contemporary anthropology. Hoffman, who has written about the most dangerous and remote corners of the world, journeys deep inside Donald Trump’s rallies, seeking to understand the strange and powerful tribe that forms the president’s base.

Simon StephensonTuesday, Sep 15 at 3PM EDT: Simon Stephenson will discuss his debut novel, Set My Heart to Five. For fans of Fredrik Backman and Gail Honeyman, Set My Heart to Five  is a delightfully entertaining, deceptively poignant debut novel about a human-like bot named Jared.  Jared works as a dentist in small town Michigan and is engineered with human DNA to look and act like a real person. One day at a screening of a classic movie, Jared feels a strange sensation around his eyes. Everyone knows that bots can’t feel emotions, but as the theater lights come on, Jared could swear he’s crying. Confused, he decides to watch more old movies to figure out what’s happening. And so Jared’s adventure begins in “this profound exploration of what makes us human, and a love letter to outsiders everywhere.”

Margaret KimberleyThursday, Sep 17 at 7PM: Margaret Kimberley will discuss her book, Prejudential: Black America and the Presidents, a concise, authoritative exploration of America's relationship with race and black Americans through the lens of the presidents who are elected to represent and govern all of its people.  Cornel West, author of Race Matters praises, "Margaret Kimberley gives us an intellectual gem of prophetic fire about all the U.S. presidents and their deep roots in the vicious legacy of white supremacy and predatory capitalism. Such truths seem more than most Americans can bear, though we ignore her words at our own peril!" Margaret Kimberley is a New York-based writer and activist for peace and justice issues. Perfect timing for this discussion as we head into election season.

Connor Towne O'NeillTuesday, Sep 29 at 5PM: Connor Towne O’Neill will discuss his book, Down Along with that Devil’s Bones: A Reckoning with Monuments, Memory, and the Legacy of White Supremacy. Journalist Connor Towne O’Neill takes a deep dive into American history, exposing the still-raging battles over monuments dedicated to one of the most notorious Confederate generals, Nathan Bedford Forrest. Through the lens of these conflicts, O’Neill examines the legacy of white supremacy in America, in a sobering and fascinating work sure to resonate with readers of Tony Horwitz, Timothy B. Tyson, and Robin DiAngelo. Publishers Weekly praises, “O’Neill writes with grace and genuine curiosity, allowing people on all sides of the issue to speak for themselves. This inquiry into the legacy of American slavery is equally distressing and illuminating.” As communities across the South grapple with these issues, O’Neill’s book could not be more timely.

Tags:  #readermeetwriter 

Share |
Permalink | Comments (0)